Defending You Against Drug Charges

When you're charged with a drug-related crime, the impact can be tremendous. From fines to jail time, such convictions can have a lasting effect on your life. To minimize your risks, it's important to have a skilled drug defense lawyer on your side. At the Law Office of Jason S. Stevens, LLC, we know the ins and outs of the criminal judicial system and will utilize that knowledge to your advantage.

We have successfully defended clients accused of a variety of drug charges in Charleston and beyond, including:

  • Possession of marijuana
  • First-time possession of cocaine, heroin or meth
  • Prescription drug fraud
  • Possession of drug paraphernalia
  • Other misdemeanor drug crimes

Are you a college student? If so, you should know that a conviction on your record can potentially make you ineligible for financial aid or scholarships. Let attorney Jason S. Stevens protect your rights and your future. Call 843-410-3953 for a free consultation.

South Carolina Takes These Offenses Seriously

South Carolina's drug-related statues have one intent: to penalize people for the manufacturing, distribution and/or consumption of illicit substances. Many drugs fall into this category such as marijuana, opiates, crack, heroin and Ecstasy. You may also find yourself charged with a drug crime for possession of a prescription drug, if you can't prove that you have a valid prescription for it.

Even small amounts of these substances can lead to serious charges that have the potential to impact your family, employment, housing and finances.

Common Infractions And Penalties In South Carolina

  • Simple possession of a Schedule I or II narcotic or LSD is classified as a misdemeanor on a first offense. A first offense is punishable with a fine of up to $5,000, a prison term of two years, or both. A second charge is classified as a felony, and incurs the same fine with a prison term of up to five years, or both. Subsequent charges carry a maximum penalty of $10,000, five years in prison, or both.
  • Simple possession of marijuana is a misdemeanor charge in most cases. If convicted of possessing less than 1 ounce, the penalty is $650 on a first offense and up to 30 days in jail. All future offenses carry a potential fine of more than $1,000 and up to a year in jail.
  • Presumed intent to sell incurs harsher fines and lengthier jail terms. A simple possession charge becomes an intent to sell charge if the amount a person has is over a set amount.

Consult With An Attorney Right Away

There are often ways to avoid convictions and reduce penalties. Do not sacrifice your rights. Contact the Law Office of Jason S. Stevens, LLC, to see what we can do for you. We will review the facts of your case, describe your options and advise you of potential consequences. Call now for a free consultation: 843-410-3953. You can also reach us online.